Hello Guest

Author Topic: Bloodthrone of khorne and frenzy  (Read 2345 times)

Offline artificerarmour

  • General
  • **********
  • Posts: 2069
  • Reputation: 9
  • Simon Fisher, this way comes...
    • View Profile
Bloodthrone of khorne and frenzy
« on: August 14, 2013, 12:33:42 PM »
Ok, so I'm wanting your opinions on this. It's gamey, but I think it's legal and something I intend to do at AGOM if I have to.

The bloodthrone allows the herald to project his locus 6inches to all units.The herald in question has the fenzy locus.

A unit in combat 6in has lost, but not crumbled. They lose frenzy.

My turn, I take my bloodthrone out of 6inch, then move it back in (I may even pivot it on the spot for maximised gaminess.)

The unit only has frenzy whilst the bloodthrone is within 6in. They "have" frenzy but lose the benefit of frenzy when they lose combat. When the bloodthrone moves out of 6in they lose the frenzy rule, and when it moves back into 6inch they regain the frenzy rule afresh.

Thoughts?
Polly wants a cWAACer?

Offline Dan Quirk

  • Also known as Corai
  • General
  • **********
  • Posts: 1338
  • Reputation: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Bloodthrone of khorne and frenzy
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2013, 12:43:24 PM »
seems legit. I'd query pivoting as acceptable though as there may be clarification somewhere that it doesn't actually count as movement for certain unit types.

Offline artificerarmour

  • General
  • **********
  • Posts: 2069
  • Reputation: 9
  • Simon Fisher, this way comes...
    • View Profile
Re: Bloodthrone of khorne and frenzy
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2013, 01:24:37 PM »
Further digging found me this post on Daemonic Legion:

Quote from: the internet
until FAQ'ed that seems how it works. Even more, the rule for frenzy says units don't lose frenzy until they lose combat, so some players who play RAW are claiming that the blood throne can run around bestowing frenzy on units and then move out of range and they still have it. This isn't RAI though.

Interesting!
Polly wants a cWAACer?

Offline xisor

  • james clark
  • General
  • **********
  • Posts: 2516
  • Reputation: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Bloodthrone of khorne and frenzy
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2013, 02:10:53 PM »
i have no issue with the first one but if you arent within 6" and want your frenzy id be forced to kick you in the crown jewels

Offline artificerarmour

  • General
  • **********
  • Posts: 2069
  • Reputation: 9
  • Simon Fisher, this way comes...
    • View Profile
Re: Bloodthrone of khorne and frenzy
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2013, 02:14:38 PM »
Rules as written James, its legal! ;)
Polly wants a cWAACer?

Offline Simon Burdett

  • Sergeant
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
  • Reputation: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Bloodthrone of khorne and frenzy
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2013, 04:23:57 PM »
I'd agree with James, moving out then back would give the frenzy back but just naturally moving away wouldn't keep frenzy as the unit would surely have to be within 6 inches unless the rules state it gives units frenzy permanent! Of you try that at AGOM we are so gonna mime 'pylon' behind you and let the warriors do their worst, unless of course you would enjoy large sweaty men jumping on you!!??
Twitter - @spuddyburdett
Instagram - @burdmeister

Offline artificerarmour

  • General
  • **********
  • Posts: 2069
  • Reputation: 9
  • Simon Fisher, this way comes...
    • View Profile
Re: Bloodthrone of khorne and frenzy
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2013, 05:11:47 PM »
It all makes sense, the bloodthrone finally has made itself worth the points!!!
Polly wants a cWAACer?

Offline xisor

  • james clark
  • General
  • **********
  • Posts: 2516
  • Reputation: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Bloodthrone of khorne and frenzy
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2013, 05:15:25 PM »
problem you have is nowhere in the book does it say you keep it until beaten in combat. The frenzy rule says you lose the frenzy if beaten in combat so if the throne within 6" you lose the frenzy but then the throne gives you it straight back is my guess.

Whenever the throne isnt within 6" though you dont have the frenzy rule as it doesnt say anywhere once you have the rule you have it premanant, just until you lose the rule (throne moves away) or are beaten in combat

Offline artificerarmour

  • General
  • **********
  • Posts: 2069
  • Reputation: 9
  • Simon Fisher, this way comes...
    • View Profile
Re: Bloodthrone of khorne and frenzy
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2013, 05:33:32 PM »
Frenzy - the section entitled "losing frenzy":

Models retain their frenzy for the entire game unless beaten in combat.

Locus:

"should a model (with locus) be slain, the effects are lost immediately"

Locus of fury:

"This model, and all in his unit, have the frenzy special rule"

bloodthrone:

"Any...unit is within 6" of a herald of a blood throne...benefits from the herald's locus exactly as if he were in the same unit."

I'm obviously making argument for arguments sake here, but it could be qite plausibly argued that the only way to lose frenzy, once acquired, is to be beaten in combat.
Polly wants a cWAACer?

Offline Soulshade

  • Darryl / Daz
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Posts: 2884
  • Reputation: 17
    • View Profile
    • A Tale of 4 Geeks
Re: Bloodthrone of khorne and frenzy
« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2013, 05:57:11 PM »
The frenzy dropping and being reapplied has ben FAQed with Rhamotep in the Tomb Kings book. He can leave a unit that lost frenzy and rejoin it to reapply it. He doesnt however give it to multiple units.

In regards to the throne, RAW isnt what we play by and never has been. Otherwise every high elf was rerolling sucessful hits for the first 6 months of 8th ed. Which of course they didnt :p

Simons not seen the true filth yet, I'll give him time to mull it over.....